What's new

help needed: which 2-channel amp to get? (1 Viewer)

Jay Chen

Auditioning
I am now looking for a 2-channel amp and it's going be used for music listening mainly. Right now i have a pair of B&W 602S2 and a Denon 1801, which will used as a temperatary preamp once i get the new power amp. Since i don't want to spend over $1000CDN(poor university student...), so there aren't many choices for me. I did some research and found out that these amps are within my budget:
1. Parasound HCA1000A(demo)
2. NAD C270
3. Anthem PVA2(where can i get MCA2 used?)
4. Rotel RB1070
All the amps list above are around $1000CDN except the NAD C270 which is $700CDN, so which amp should i buy?(it's my first time buying seperates!!) and for those people who live in sourthern Ontario, any recommendation for audio stores with decent prices? I am now studying in Kitchiner/Waterloo area, but i don't mind taking a trip back to Toronto to buy the amp.
thanks guys!!
Jay

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Kevin Deacon

Second Unit
Buy a used amp. I bought a used mint condition Parasound 2200II off Eb&y for $710.00usd. This bad boy has 250 watts per channel and is a beast. Sounds very detailed and tends to the warm side. Sweet!!!

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
I think any of those would be good choices, and I would second the recommendation to buy used. Amps don't have moving parts that wear out, and if you find someone who's taken good care of his gear, you can get amps in as-new condition for much less than retail.

If I had to pick, I'd probably rate the Parasound and Rotel a shade above the NAD. No idea about Anthem gear.

chung

Stunt Coordinator
You may be able to find a used Aragon 4004MkII for around $700. Very highly recommended.

Alex Prosak

Supporting Actor