What's new

Hd-dvd? (1 Viewer)

paul watkins

Stunt Coordinator
heres the deal.i have been buying dvds for about 2 years now,i have about 200.

i recently bought an HDTV....NOW i have been watching shows in HD on cable and i'm thinking this is way better than anything i have on dvd!also i recently went to a local tv dealer and he had a HD-VCR playin.wow!

so heres a question am i going to be kicking myself in a year or two for spending a small fortune on the format we have now,and probably spending more money buying my favorites all over again in HD-DVD?

i'm sure this has been pondered here before but i had to ask.

Carl Johnson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Carl III

No. While there has been some discussion about a format for HD-DVD that hasn't even been settled yet. It will take at least a couple of years before the format is released and even longer before the selection of titles available is a fraction of what's currently available on DVD. After five years there are plenty of titles that have yet to be released on DVD. Why would you kick yourself for buying a title like the long awaited Back to the Future in 2002 when it probably won't make it to HD-DVD for another 5+ years?

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
In Peter Staddon's recent chat, he indicated 2004-2005 at the earliest for HD-DVD. My philosophy on the subject is to enjoy the format now without going totally overboard. I have been collecting since I got my player in June 1997 and to this day, I only have 85 DVD's in my collection.

Sean Laughter

Screenwriter
Possibly the "safest" things to buy on DVD right now are certain television shows, because I highly doubt some of them will benefit too terribly much from a hi-def transfer (and being 4:3 anyway). Anyway, I'm not gonna deprive myself of movies just because Blu-Ray hasn't landed yet :)

David Brent

Stunt Coordinator
Does DVD offer the best possible presentation for most TV programmes?