Grounding a dish 500

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jim_H, Mar 4, 2001.

  1. Jim_H

    Jim_H Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm installing my dish 6000 w/ 2 dishes. What is the best way to ground the system? The install kit comes with 15' of ground cable but that isn't long enough.
    My understanding is that it should be a continuous piece of ground wire back to a known good ground. What does that exactly mean?
    Do I need to run it all the way to the panel?
    thanks
    Jim
     
  2. Paul W

    Paul W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you in a house or apartment?
    I guess it depends on how your electrical service enters your house and how you mount your dish.
    Here's how I did it:
    The cable guy installed a grounding block near the electrical service when my house was built. The dish kit I bought came with another grounding block that could accommodate two cables (for two dishes). I simply replaced the grounding block intalled by the cable company.
    I had to buy 50' of single strand 8 gauge wire (green sheath) and ran it from both dishes to the grounding block. Note, it is impossible to insert the tap screw with three 8 gauge ground wires inserted into the hole. You may want to get (I have no idea what this is called, but it is a tube with two set screws for splicing wires end-to-end) and insert all of your 8 gauge wires in one end (1 or 2 from the dish and the one that goes to the grounding block located near your electical service) and maybe a 4 gauge wire from the other end to the grounding block where your RG6 cables are installed.
    If you run your cable through the roof into the attic, then I think it is sufficient to tie into the ground wire for any of the light fixtures in the attic. Check with an electrician on this.
    I hope this helps.
    ------------------
    [​IMG] Paul Warren
    Hey fella . . . I bet you're still livin' in your parent's cellar . . . downloading pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar . . . and posting "Me too!" like some brain-dead AOL-er . . . I should do the world a favor and cap ya' like Old Yeller . . . you're just about as useless as MPEGs to Hellen Keller.
     
  3. Dave Morton

    Dave Morton Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Dave
    All the conduit in my house is grounded. So I attached the ground wire to the conduit. I spoke with a couple of electricians in the area and that is what they suggested. It was easy to do.
    ------------------
    ------ Dave ------
    ------------------
    MY HT
     
  4. Jim_H

    Jim_H Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the help...off to the hardware store...
    Jim
     
  5. Eric Harrison

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The local hardward store near me suggested just grounding the wire to the water pipes in the basement. The water pipes are already grounded, so this was easy to do as the pipe was right next to where the the rg6 cables came into the house.
     
  6. Geoff_RT

    Geoff_RT Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are like me, and didn't have easy access to an outside grounding post, just get yourself an 8 foot copper grounding rod, a sledgehammer, and pound one in yourself. They sell those at Home Depot too - I got mine for about $20.
    Make sure the actual dish mount AND the cable are both grounded! I've even seen some "professional" installations that did one or the other. Since you're sticking a metal dish to your roof and attaching a long run of copper wire to it that runs right into your house, you want to be on the safe side.
    ------------------
    Geoff
    Home Theater pics & more at:
    http://www.maximumgamer.com
    [email protected]
     

Share This Page