What's new

Got my tempest up and running... underwhelmed HELP! (1 Viewer)

Darren_T

Second Unit
I think I must have done something wrong. I hooked the sub up with great anticipation. Set my sub level to 0 on the receiver. I adjusted the volume half way up on the sub amp and bypassed the built in crossover. Left the phase at 0. When I started playing some music ( Megadeath :D ) I slowly turned up the volume on the receiver and not to far into it the sub over-extended so I turned it back down promptly. I then turned the amp gain to 1/4 where it stays now. My Velodyne CT 100 10" sub seems to perform on par with this monster.
Can someone give me some troubleshooting tips? I'm using the LFE input BTW.
I know something must be wrong because this thing should really scream. I built the Adire Alignment Vented Tempest with slight modifications to the dimensions but made darn sure I kept 214L volume. I also stuffed with the recommended 64 ounces of Polyfil. I only put it in two chambers since I had plenty of space to put it.
Why is this thing extending beyond its maximum at just over 1/4 of the gain on the amp? Oh I'm using the PE 250W amp with no boost. Also, I don't seem to be getting the low frequency extension I got with my velodyne either. I tested the Matrix and when Neo gets thrown up against the subway walls in his fight I can feel the impact with the 10 more than I can hear it but with the Tempest I don't even feel it.
HELP!!!
Darren

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
Any chance the voice coils are wired in opposite phase ? See what happens with just one VC wired up and the other one open.

Jason Hammerly

Supporting Actor
Did you calibrate the sub with your system? What kind of receiver do you have. Is there a limiter on your LFE channel? Are you sure you have the sub wired correctly?

Darren_T

Second Unit