What's new

Finally, a DVD Cataloguer for Mac! (1 Viewer)

Matt Gordon

Supporting Actor
I'm trying it out too! This could be good!

Later on, I'll try to do a comparison to DVD Profiler, which I also own.

Matt

Ted Todorov

Senior HTF Member
Actually there has been one for quite a while now (OS X only) -- Readerware.
It also does audio CDs & books (thus the name). Works great with a :Cue:Cat I've been using it for a couple of months now and I am very happy with it.
Only caveat -- it's not free: $50 for just DVDs, or $75 for all three products.
Ted

Ted Todorov

Senior HTF Member
As it stands right now I would not pay any money for this software. It does do what it says, but all fields must be manually entered. (From VersionTracker.com)
I remember this now, DVD Shelf has been out for a while, but I went with ReaderWare after I saw the user reviews for DVD Shelf. Essentially, you have to do all the work yourself, and it does not export HTML. Pretty useless.

With ReaderWare, all you have to do is scan in the barcode, and it automatically fetches from the internet a cover scan, cast & crew info, track listings in the case of audio CDs, etc. You can also drag & drop an IMDB URL and ReaderWare automatically downloads all the info. Definitely worth the extra $30.

Ted

Patrick Larkin

Screenwriter
Ted --

Thanks for the Readerware tip. This topic comes up once in a while and no one ever mentioned it.

I'll check it out tonite. I have to say though that using the IMDB to populate my database scares me. IMDB is often innacurate.

Besides, I'm going to fill in all the other stuff anyway (audi/video specs). Fetching the cover would be nice but where does Readerware get that from? IMDB surely doesn't have every DVD cover.

Ted Todorov

Senior HTF Member