What's new
World Wide Stereo

DVD Player to Receiver? Or DVD Player to TV? (1 Viewer)

Chad Viro

Stunt Coordinator
Hello All:
I am just curious how the majority of people connect up their dvd player. Do most of you connect the dvd player to your receiver, and then the receiver to your tv? Or do most of you connect the dvd player straight to the tv?

I am pretty new at this, so I have no idea what the advantages/disadvantages are to either one of these setups (I know Bob's write-up does say that if you do dvd-to-receiver you can use one remote).

My current system is comprised of:
-Denon 2200 DVD Player
-Denon 3803 Receiver
-Toshiba 57H82 TV

Note: I would like to buy some high quality component cables from bettercables; Do i need to buy two component cables if I were to do Dvd-to-Receiver-to-TV?

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
With a HD setup, most people run component cables directly to the TV. This is because:

- many recievers that have Component video switching do not have the 100 Mhz bandwidth needed for HD video.

- Running through the reciever only makes sense if you have 2 or more sources with the same type of video feed. (you only have 1).

My system: I use SVideo for everything through the reciever, then to the TV.

Yes, you need 2 component cables to run through the reciever. Going straight to the TV you only need 1.

Shane Martin

Senior HTF Member
I wouldn't say most but alot of folks run their video direct from their dvd player to their TV. This eliminates one set of cables.
Yes you would. As I said above I would not do it.

HienD

Stunt Coordinator
I route all my video sources through the receiver except for the VCR. I have more devices then my tv will accept. I don't have a HDTV so I don't notice a loss in picture quality.

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member