dreamcast vga problem???????

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by dave_brogli, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have or am trying to hook up my dc with a vga box.... My tv is a rca d36120 hdtv. when I hook up the vga chord to the vga in on my tv.... I get a picture for two seconds then flickers off, then on then off. But when, my picture is there its clear but not colored right (alot of greens). I then tried to hook it up to my tv via the vga-to- component cable and it never even recieves a signal. Please someone help me!!!
    Thanks!!
     
  2. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Come on anyone?? the same flickering happened when I tried to hook up my computer to that tv.....ANYONE[​IMG]
     
  3. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    If your comptuer does that too, its probably something on the TV side of things. Try the TV forum. Im thinking it could be some loose connections on the VGA port
     
  4. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no i know its not that cause my high definition works fine. thanks though!!
     
  5. Gui A

    Gui A Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2000
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some early games don't work well with the VGA box.
    But since you said that it happens when you hook up the computer to the TV, that probably means it's something with that input and it's settings. Or it could also be the cable you're using. Check the pins, make sure they're straight.
     
  6. JamesH

    JamesH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it sounds like a cable/connection problem. When a computer monitor cable gets loose, it turns the screen all sorts of funky colors. My DC VGA works just fine on my Zenith HDTV.
     
  7. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok it works fine on my Comp monitor but whe I hook it up to my tv it gets distorted and all crappy looking. It happened the same way when I tried to hook up my computer to my tv. I heard once it may because of the SYNCHROSCAN on the RCA's If anyone knows about this help!!!
     
  8. Mike_G

    Mike_G Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Mike
    Which VGA adapter are you using? The one I have (I can't remember the name. Starts with an 'H') has a switch for VGA/TV. Does yours have that? Check it.

    Sounds like a synch issue (50Hz/60Hz).

    Mike
     
  9. dave_brogli

    dave_brogli Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I think your right... it has to do something with the SYNCROSCAN of the tv.... hmmm i bet......
    ANYONE KNOW ABOUT SYNCROSCAN lol, cause I dont. Damn Im screwed.[​IMG]
     
  10. Steve Bjorg

    Steve Bjorg Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're sure it has nothing to do with the fact that VGA (be it DC or PC) uses RGB and your TV expects YPbPr (used by prog.-scan DVD players and HD)?
     

Share This Page