Dream Theater

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brian Dobbs, Jul 19, 2001.

1. Brian Dobbs

Brian Dobbs Ambassador

Brian Dobbs
    Anyone like Dream Theater? I'd have to say that their level of music production is a step above most.

2. Brian Perry

Brian Perry Cinematographer

3. John_Bonner

John_Bonner Supporting Actor

Brian,
    Any specs on the Liquid Drum Theater DVD?
    -Anamorphic?
    -Dolby Digital?
    -Extras? (Besides Mike's commentary)
    I have the VHS version of this and love it.
    The audio mix is great since Mike plays "on top of" the studio tracks so the drums really stand out (I am a drummer BTW). I ran the audio out of my VCR to my sound card's audio in and made WAV files of the songs which I burned onto a CD so I can listen to my own remix with the hyped-up drums.
    I have the Metropolis 2000 DVD and love that also but I have to admit that I was disappointed with the specs. I didn't mind too much that it wasn't anamorphic because they did a real nice job with the full frame but I was really looking forward to a 5.1 channel mix. Not to be. [​IMG]
    A week or so before the DVD arrived I rented The Eagles "When Hell Freezes Over" DVD which was recorded in 5.1 and the sound was truly awesome. Instruments and vocals coming from discrete channels really gave you the feeling of being immersed in the concert. And I thought with Mike P being a big film buff and having a huge DVD collection we would be treated to a 5.1 version but it wasn't recorded that way. Damn!
    Oh well, I'm sure I'll still buy the LDT DVD no matter what the specs and I'll pick up the new CD as well. IMO these guys are the best band out there today period!
    ------------------
    JB
    "This is Chuck reminding Bill to shut up!"

4. Brian Perry

John,
    Unfortunately I don't know any more details about the LTD DVD.