What's new

DLP vs. CRT projectors/RPTVs (1 Viewer)

Brian Bustin

Auditioning
I have heard from sources who are easily influenced by marketing efforts that a DLP projector looks just as good as a CRT one if not better. They site brightness and clarity.

I understand how the underlying technology in CRT, LCD, and DLP projectors work. I would be wary going for an LCD projector due to low contrast levels and the "screen look."

I have not auditioned projectors, but I was wondering what the experts think about DLP.

Jan Strnad

Screenwriter
I'm no expert, but I've seen some excellent DLP pictures.

Personally, I'm staying away until a) I have some money, b) I have even more money, and c) I can get a DLP projector with three panels instead of a color wheel. I see rainbows. Oh, and I need a room to put one in.

I haven't seen anything that beat a good CRT projector, though, in terms of color subtlety and black levels.

Jan

Brian Bustin

Auditioning
I hope that comes out soon. I've never demoed a DLP projector, but I think I will soon in order to try to see the rainbow effect and see if it's really annoying.

Is any company that you know of currently working on a 3 DLP projector?

Robert James Clark

Second Unit
Don't hold your breath for a 3 chip DLP. The cost wont come down for a long time.

I have a DLP projector (older XGA) and a CRT projector and the DLP is wonderful. Great detail, smooth picture and very acceptable black levels. Sure beats my CRT in ease of use and maintenance.
I only see rainbows if I really force myself to: darting my eyes violently from the left and right of the screen. Keep in mind that your eyes and brain adjust after a few days and you probably wont have any "eyestrain" etc. after a week...

Doug_B

Screenwriter