Dear God...please tell me there isn't a problem with...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DeathStar1, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    my new HP DVD Burner.

    I created two succesfully so far. One was a computer backup on CD R, the other was a server backup on DVDRW. But all of a sudden, it's telling me that there is a data verification problem first, and later says that there was a problem recording to the CD.

    *Edit* In a bit of experimenting, after my initial emotional overload, I turned off Verify Files, and it worked perfectly, managing to burn two simple text files to a CDRW. But still, it never gave me this error message before. Any ideas?

    Thanks

    System: Windows XP, 384MB's of Ram, 1GHZ P3, All Applications closed while burning..
     
  2. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a lot of problems with turning the "verify" on. I disable it and just give the disc a quick data check after it's written.
    Also, you might want to disable DMA for the device as a test if you notice any other problems. (Conversely, if it is currently disabled, enable it.)
    Good move writing to DVD-RW first! Most people just assume that the burn will work or are afraid of compatibility issues and use regular DVD-R. That's still an expensive coaster to make. [​IMG]
     
  3. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    What model of HP burner is it? And how much does it cost?
    I second checking the DMA...also, is the DVD burner sharing another drive on the same IDE cable? Hopefully your hard drive is not on the same cable as it!
    If the burner is sharing the cable with another CD-ROM/CD-R drive, try physically disconnecting that drive. I had a major compatibility issue with an Asus 50x CDROM and my new Liteon CD burner. Removing the Asus drive and replacing it with a Toshiba DVD-ROM solved all my CRC-error issues.
     
  4. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all.
    Don't know if DMA CAN be enabled. It is a five year old hard drive, after all. However, it is soon to be replaced with an upgraded 60GB 7200 RPM Maxtor. Right now it's a 10GB Maxtor.
    As for the IDE Channels, yep, it is connected to the Hard Drive, so as to free up cables in the system and make it easier to spot things in there. But, that's easilly switchable as soon as my TV tuner is finished recording [​IMG].
     
  5. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page