What's new

Could I Fix My TV Myself? (1 Viewer)

James Zos

Supporting Actor
I've got a 27-inch Panasonic (CT-27SF11S), which was manufactured in 1995. I love this TV, it has served me well, but there is a problem with the hue--it has a slight but noticable (to me, anyway) greenish tint. (I've calibrated with the AVIA disc, and it is still there.)

I mentioned the problem to the local TV repair guy and he suggested that it might be fixed by tweaking the grayscale - which he also refered to as the green gun (are they one and the same?)

Thing is, I don't feel entirely comfortable schlepping my TV over to this guy. I can't find out anything about his shop's reputation and they're not a member of the BBB.

What I'd really like to do is fix the problem myself. But I have no experience fiddling around with the inside of a TV (I assume I'd have to open it up) and have read that the risk of electrocution can make it dangerous, even when unplugged ...

How hard is it to tweak the grayscale? If, say, I got a service manual, would it be unduly difficult? What do you think?

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

If you are lucky, there is a service menu to use and you don't need to open up the set.

If you are not ... it is no big deal either. Just don't wear a lot of dangling gold chains. After you take the back off, there will likely be 5 to 7 screwdriver controls located either at the neck of the crt or along the bottom edge of the circuit board in the set. These things are labeled r/g/b cuts and drivers and this is what you adjust with the TV turned on.

Regards

James Zos

Supporting Actor
Wow - that was fast! Thanks for the response, Michael!