What's new

Can you sound deaden a room to much? (1 Viewer)

StevenDE

Auditioning
I've been searching around here on ways to sound deaden a room both for improving the sound of the system I have and trying to keep sounds from outside the room from coming in. My question after reading everything is this. Is it possible to make a room to dead? Do the benifits of sound deadening a room only make sense for movies or dose it make listening to music that much better? sorry if this has asked befor but I haven't come across it in my searching. Thanks for your time and help.

Steven

John S

Senior HTF Member
In a good dead room, more power will be needed to attain certain volume levels. But it should by all accounts sound better on both music and movies.

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
i'm not too technical in this area, but i definitely agree that you can over-dampen a room. if it was as easy as nulling all the sound, all you would have to do is put foam on all the walls.

music and movies are lively, they have transients, etc. if you deaden a room too much, you kill all that stuff.

i've read some articles in sght by that russ h. guy. while i think he may be a bit fanatical, i agree with his assessment on being careful of how you attempt to adjust the room acoustics.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
You are mixing Sound Isolation and Early-Reflection reduction.

In general, the more you isolate the room, the better. But then things like the sound of your heating/AC can become a problem.

Some people have tried to totally deaden the area up front, but then they dont like the results. It's too ... 'lifeless'.

Remember that your favorite movie theater or concert hall is a large, open area with some reflection (or at least a sense of space). If you deaden the room too much, you ruin the simulation.