What's new

Buying house w/HTS. Keep existing or buy new? (1 Viewer)

jenBow

Auditioning
Real Name
Jen Bowen
I am very new to the world of home theater. My husband and I are purchasing a home that has a basement family room (not dedicated theater room) with a Sony big screen tv. The owners are offering to leave the existing electronics for $5K, but after looking around on this site all day today, I don't know if that's the best thing to do, since new technology and lower pricing may give me more for the same amount of money.

I am listing the equipment they have. I've asked for model numbers, but haven't received anything yet. I think the equipment is somewhere between 3 and 5 years old. They have DirecTV, but I think we may stick with digital cable, unless there's a great reason to use satellite. We really don't watch that much television, but want a nice sound when we do. Also, my son has a PS2 that we'd like to add, as well. If you think the equipment is good, please let me know what you think about the price.

Again, I know there's not much you can do without model numbers, but any comments, suggestions, or feedback is welcome. Thanks for your input!

4 Receivers (Yamaha AV, Hughes Platinum, RCA, Sony) - I guess for other rooms?
Klipsch 12" Subwoofer
Klipsch Center Channel Speaker
4 Klipsch 8 inch Ceiling Speakers
2 Sonance Ceiling Speakers (6.5" or 8")
Sonance 260x3 Amplifier
Panamax Surge Protector
Open House Modulator for IR - is this specific to DirecTV?
4 IR Targets for other rooms
Phillips Pronto Smart Remote w/docking station
2 Outdoor Stone Speakers

mylan

Screenwriter
Well, the moment they cut holes for the in-ceiling speakers, they became part of the house so they should stay regardless, unless they are planning to remove them and replace with an inferior speaker. The other receivers, Sonance equipment, IR repeaters, and rock speakers are part of a whole house audio system that I would consider keeping.