What's new

Buying a Pool Table (1 Viewer)

Adil M

Supporting Actor
I am going to buy a pool table. I was looking to spend 1200-1400 and would like to get a used 8' table.
Is the Brunswick Bristol any good? Some guy is trying to sell it to me for 1500 negotiable, but it got mixed internet reviews. I saw 3 ads for Brunswick Gold Crowns (these are good right) for 1300?

Does anyone have some good advice? I'm not a pro, but I'm good and looking to become really good. My roommate has won some tournaments and we want a nice table for the big space in the other room.

I am confident the after hours lounge will lead me to the right table.

Any advice is appreciated. TIA

Mark Romero

Second Unit
Real Name
Mark Romero
I see nothing wrong with buying a used Brunswick and for those prices it seems like a good deal. I bought a new 8' American Heritage a year ago for about $3500. It is nice looking and works well for me. Where are the reviews you are talking about?

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
I have a friend who sells and installs these things, he has a nice one in his house.

The most important thing is installation and moving. If you have professionals move and install the pool table you will be good to go. Home tables are fantastic. How well they play and stay together depends entirely on how well installed/moved they are.

Another interesting tidbit he told me, the cheapest formica table you can get will play 95%+ as well as the most expensive furniture table you can get if it's installed right. The reason to get a more expsnsive table is only if you want a nice furniture table in your room.

Personally I see a cheap Formica table in my future. :)

Keith Mickunas

Senior HTF Member
If you put good slate, good rubber, and good cloth on a table that is level and of proper dimensions, it should work well. The rest is pretty much window dressing. It is good to have a nice heavy table also, the heavier the better for the most part.