What's new

Bought a house, inherited an HD theater system, help me! (1 Viewer)

vraeside

Auditioning
Real Name
Vance
OK,
I bought a home, and the seller left the theater room as part of the package.
I'm new to high end electronics - I'm coming from owning a 36" Sony television with some bose tower speakers and a Sony DVD plalyer.

Here's what I have:
1. Projector - Toshiba TDP-MT800 Digital Projector
2. Receiver - Kenwood VR-8070 Surround Receiver
3. Screen - DA-LITE/PERM WALL 52x92 (16:9 HDTV Projection)
4. Speakers - There are 8 speakers.
- Center Channel and LF & RF are Polk Audio
- Side Rear Left & Side Rear Right ? are Atlantic
- Infinity Sub and small Infinity Left Back & Right Back
All the wall speakers are placed within the wall at specific points but I can access the cords at the back by moving the speakers.
- The previous owner also has a power cable running to the main control area.

DVD Player - currently, it's my Sony DVP-360 which supports component video, but I bought it around 6 years ago / maybe more?

When I put in "The Matrix" - and played the sound very loud, the movie clipped and then shut down the entire receiver. If I keep it at a decent level, it doesn't shut down, but I don't want this problem.

Also - I've noticed when it's operating at 1080i for sports, sometimes the picture "clips" or "adjusts" - this happens 1x every 30th show or so - ie - it doesn't happen with any frequency, I've just noticed it on a couple of occassions when I was watching a football game.

I've subscribed to the HD channels through my cable provider and hooked that up fine - no problems.

1. What kind of DVD player should I buy which will give me good quality and avoid the issues with clipping? Do I need special cables?
2. Any feedback on my current receiver and or things I should be aware of / possibly replace?