Bose Acoustimass

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Alan Miller, May 30, 2004.

  1. Alan Miller

    Alan Miller Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently bought a set of Acoustimass 10 in the USA. Does anyone know how to convert the power to Uk mains?

    Thanks
    Alan
     
  2. fletcherS

    fletcherS Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    get a step up adaptor. look for it in the electronics shops.
     
  3. John F. Palacio

    John F. Palacio Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UK uses 220v 50Hz. US 115v 60Hz.
    You need a transformer to stepdown the UK's 220v to 115v.

    Be sure the wattage of the transformer matches or exceeds that of the unit. (Look at the back of the receiver or the manual for this info) Radio Shack might be a good place to start looking for this transformer as well as PartsExpress.com Good Luck.
     
  4. Marc H

    Marc H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Write to or call Bose to ask...there may be 220V taps already on the power supply.
     
  5. Kenneth Harden

    Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While I don't like Bose, I LOVE ripping open the sub in hopes of finding the correct voltage [​IMG]

    When we lived in Tasmania, we bought a nice little Jamo subwoofer. We got back the the USA, popped the amp off, played around for a while, and BAM! It worked, new cord end and it was good. On the end of the subs transformer, there were a bunch of wires, and we were able to find the right setup to make it work for 110v.

    Try it.
     
  6. JamesCB

    JamesCB Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Yes. Sell the Bose and try another brand.









    Sorry, couldn't help it.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page