opinion on the purchase of a new tv

Discussion in 'Displays' started by bjballar41, Jan 4, 2014.

Tags:
  1. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
  2. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder 映画ファン

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Scotland
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    I think that's a 720p plasma, i personally wouldn't touch it with a bargepole but it's your money.
     
  3. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    ya i looked it up and found that out i just saw it had the same symptoms as my tv so was thinking if i fixed mine may be an easy fix
     
  4. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    and whats considered a main board? is that the power supply?
     
  5. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    so ive been trying to see about checking my hours on my working samsung and i can not find a way to do it. and i contacted samsung and they said there is no option on checking how many hours their tvs have been in use
     
  6. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder 映画ファン

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Scotland
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    They won't tell you, here is how you do it.

    2011 "D" Models : While the TV is in standby mode: Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons. The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed. Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "SVC" "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed. To exit, press the {POWER} button. NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to default values. So make sure to write down custom adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.2010 "C" Models : While the TV is in standby mode: Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons. The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed. Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "SVC" "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed. To exit, press the {POWER} button. NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to default values. So make sure to write down custom adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.2009 "B" Models: B550 / B560 / B590 / B650 / B850 / B860 While the TV is in standby mode: Press the {INFO}, {MENU}, {MUTE} & {POWER} buttons. The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed. Using the {UP} or {Down} buttons, select "Control". Then select "Sub Option". "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed. To exit, press the {POWER} button. NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to default values. So make sure to write down custom adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.2008 "A" Models: A450 / A550 / A650 While the TV is in standby mode: Press the {MUTE}, {1}, {8}, {2} & {POWER} buttons. The TV will turn on with the Service Menu displayed. Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "PDP OPTION". or Use the {UP} or {DOWN} buttons to select "OPTION BYTE". "PANEL DISPLAY TIME" will be one of the items listed. To exit, press the {RETURN} button and/or turn the power off. NOTE: After exiting, all picture settings will be reset to default values. So make sure to write down custom adjustments before accessing the Service Menu.
     
  7. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    i tried that here is my number pn42c450b1dxza so i think mine is a c450 which would mean its a 2010. do i press all the buttons at once? and standby means its on like the screen saver where it shows samsung that moves around right?
     
  8. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder 映画ファン

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Scotland
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    No, i actually did this for my E6500 last year to check hours, i confirmed it was a new TV that way, you want to switch the television into standby, this means switching it off using your remote so you have nothing on the screen, the TV will be off, then you follow the instructions above.

    Press each button one at a time, no need to rush it.
     
  9. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    still nothing just cuts on to cable
     
  10. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder 映画ファン

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Scotland
    Real Name:
    Malcolm
    Disconnect anything connected to the television and then try again, it took me a few goes to get right.
     
  11. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    can i disconnet from cable box and sound bar and not actual tv?
     
  12. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    i got it to pull up but there is no svc option on it
     
  13. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    i found it mines under the 2009 options 5691hrs . how long are these tvs suppose to last? i saw somehwere panasonic has like 30000 hrs?
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Most plasma, by then, had 100,000 hour panels.
     
  15. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
  16. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    power supply did not work so shopping for new tv
     
  17. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Hopefully the PS wasn't expensive. I bet nobody else came up with a different possibility either...
     
  18. Type A

    Type A HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Real Name:
    Ty
    Bummer. With your budget, and only using BB, its either the LG 50PN5300 or Samsung PN51F5300AFXZA. I know its $50 over your budget, even with free delivery, but I wouldnt invest in a 720p plasma. At 720p the pixels are just too obvious and I wouldnt want to own an LED, 1080p or not.
     
  19. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    I'm gonna talk to them I have heard they are price matching even amazon. So gonna see what I can come up with.
     
  20. bjballar41

    bjballar41 Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Brock
    LG is 649 Samsung is 649 and an inch bigger idk which one is better
     

Share This Page