What's new

Newbie Help Please!!! (1 Viewer)

adlenoir

Auditioning
Real Name
Tony
I joined the forum today after hours and hours of reading different comments. You guys are awesome. I have questions and will try to keep this as short as possible. Here is my history. I am very new to HT. After 2 months of searching for an HD TV (my old Hitachi 51F series has greenish tint that I can't get rid of even after attempting calibration with the Avia CD, but thats another story) I narrowed my choices to the 50" Samsung HL 5086 or 5087 series and the Sony 50" 50E2000 or 50A2000. I was basing my decision solely on the reviews at CNET and Amazon.com. (I only recently discovered HT forums). I decided that I didn't need the 1080p right now and looked at the low end models of each company because they were both within my budget of $1500. For a month I read pros and cons of each (from rainbow effects to screen doors to green globs) and went back and forth to my local BB store. I finally decided on the Samsung because the pictures were both great and so close in my opinion and there was a $200 advantage to the Samsung. I found, however that I could get the 1080p version (HL 5087xx) of this model online for less than the price BB was charging for the 5086 model. I hesitantly decided to order online and it should be here in within 2 weeks. (In time to see Colts win superbowl!). My wife is worried sick about ordering an item like this online. We'll see how it goes. Now I am ready for some type surround sound. My wife sees me looking at CNET and Amazon again and doesn't want me to wait another 2 months to make a decision. She told me about this website so I went here yesterday and literally spent 5 hours reading all the comments and rebuttals. I decided to join and ask my questions and base my decision on your expertise. I am sorry for being so long winded but I have learned so much that I realize I don't know anything about HT. Like I said, I am looking for surround sound, here are my