Yamaha RX-V1400 as pre/pro

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Kevin. W, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious if anyone out there is using the new Yamaha RX-V1400 as a pre/pro or as standalone. How does it sound? Currently I'm running a Marantz AV560U pre/pro(with RC5000i remote) but would like to upgrade if I can sell it. The 1400 looks like a promising match for my Rotel RMB-1095. You just can't step into a dedicated pre/pro with all the bells and whistles for that price.

    [​IMG]

    Kevin
     
  2. Andrew Skegg

    Andrew Skegg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am about to upgrade my stereo system to 5.1 surround and have done a lot of searching and reading.

    Finally settled on Paradigm Studio 40, 470 and ADP speaker system mated to a Rotel RMB1095 amp and my new (ebay) Yamaha RX-V1300 (sound familiar?)

    I note your pic in another thread - this is alomost exactly what i am aiming for. How do you find it?

    If you do decide to go down this path I would love to know the outcome.
     
  3. VicQ

    VicQ Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin,

    I'm using the 1400 as a pre/pro mated with the rotel 1070 for the fronts and the 1075 for the rest of the channels. I personally like it. I can't say if it's better than others as I've always owned Yamaha receivers. However, the 1400 has the most features ever, and the YPAO it's very useful to get the best sound out of your particular room.

    -Vic
     
  4. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.

     
  5. Andrew Skegg

    Andrew Skegg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes - all the latest Paradigm speakers and thanks for the ground loop hint.

    You have a tough choice.

    The features seem very similar, except :

    RXV1400:
    - 7 x 110W amp (not important for you)
    - THX (nice)
    - Nice video switching/converting (nice)
    - Automatic surround setup (YPAO) (no match for the human ear, but a good start point)

    RXV2300
    - 6 x 110W amp (not important for you)
    - Macro capable remote (nice)

    If I were you I would be tempted to get the RXV1400 just for THX (if movies are your thing).
     
  6. NickSP

    NickSP Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin, the 1400 makes a very good prepro. In addition to the above comparison made with the 2300, I'd like to add that the 1400 also adds DTS 96/24 and the newer 1400s should have PL-IIx.
     
  7. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I went out and bought the 1400 before selling of my Marantz. Oh well. So far I've just got the unit hooked up and speaker settings done(small, sub, etc). Haven't used the Auto Calibration(YPAO) yet or calibrated with the sound meter. I did throw in a couple of disks to try it out. All I can say is, "What have I been missing" There is a new level of definition and clarity to movies I've seen that I swear I never heard before. Take for example in the Matrix Reloaded where Neo is fighting all the Mr Jones in the playground. When he grabs the pole and starts hitting them with it you can hear the ping/clanging noise the pole makes as it makes contact. Another thing I noticed is the seperation of surrounds is much cleaner and more defined. Build quality of the unit is excellent with tons of hookups on the back. I've goto dig a little deeper into the manual to understand all the settings then I can set the unit up right. So far I'll give it [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Kevin
     
  8. Mark Amayao

    Mark Amayao Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    1400 = front two channels use 24/192 DACS
    2400 = 24/192 for all channels
     
  9. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Gruson

    Gruson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking about this receiver too....does it have Pro Logic IIx??
     
  11. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep in Canada for sure! In the US make sure it has the sticker on the box or that the dealer will take it back if it doesn't. From what I've read the ones at www.6ave.com do have it and people are getting it as a substitue if you order the RX-V1300(and at the 1300 price).

    Kevin
     
  12. Gruson

    Gruson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin, how do you like the IIx?
     
  13. Richard_B

    Richard_B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would there be any real advantage to use a RX-V2400 as a pre/pro over the RX-V1400?
     
  14. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  15. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 1400 has zone 2/3 as well
     
  16. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yep, my mistake, the 1400 does have zone 3. Looking at the comparision chart on Yamha's website, the only real differences I can see are that the 2400 has lip-sync delay adjustment (of special interest to FP/scaler users), a macro capable remote, RS232C interface and 10 more watts per channel. Since the usage is as a pre-pro, power out is meaningless and 110 vs. 120 watts is negligible anyway.
     
  17. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 1400 has lin-sync delay adjustment, too.


    Sorry, Dan..but I think you have the rest correct [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  18. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
    Damn, Yamaha's website doesn't mention LS delay for the 1400, but it is listed prominently in the features section for the 2400.
     

Share This Page