1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

xbox now has a 480p dash!

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Dave_vega, Apr 22, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    you have to enable the progressive scan dash by pressing both triggers and clicking both thumsticks while you are in the dashboard..this is great for me because my HD inputs don't accept 480i..
     
  2. RudyN

    RudyN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mundelein, IL
    Real Name:
    Rudy Nunez
    Are you referring to the Halo Xbox or new Xboxes in general?
     
  3. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm referring to all xbox's..with xbox live 3.0 you can now have a 480p dash..3.0 live is the latest download..
     
  4. Jason Harbaugh

    Jason Harbaugh Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny how this isn't mentioned in any of Microsoft's press releases about the new Live update or covered at all in Xbox.com. I did find a thread in their forums discussing it. Must say that it is about friggin time.
     
  5. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,639
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    This is a great thing for those of us with the VGA adapter. No more flippin dip switches!!!
     
  6. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn right..this is a much anticipated update for alot of people..not having an option for a 480p dash just didn't make sense..
     
  7. Sean Moon

    Sean Moon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if they can update to make the dash 480p, why cant they make an update to make the DVD player progressive as well? And wouldnt it be a sweet update to kinda make the XBOX an HTPC kinda, having the onboard graphics chip and memory upscale your DVDs for you? I would think that would be possible through a firmware download or so, but I may be mistaken.
     
  8. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    sean I know the "hackers" can enable progressive scan on DVD's..there was a news release awhile ago that stated the xbox could do proscan on DVD's with a simple software upgrade..doubt we'd ever see it though..i'm just happy I can see my dash now lol..
     
  9. Mark Shannon

    Mark Shannon Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you have to click both triggers and thumbsticks at the exact same time??
     
  10. Dave_vega

    Dave_vega Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes..go into the dash and hit em all at the same time..your screen should change..I went all the way into my video settings and did it, cus I thought you had to..I then tried it at the XBL dash and it worked fine there also..if it doesn't work at the XBL dash go all the way into the video settings (where you enable 480p, 1080i, etc) and do it there..
     
  11. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best...Improvement...Ever!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    bout freaking time though
     
  12. Dave Scarpa

    Dave Scarpa Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 1999
    Messages:
    5,348
    Likes Received:
    57
    Real Name:
    David Scarpa
    Once enabled does the 480p hold?
     
  13. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,639
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Yes. There may be a slight lag for it to kick in, but you shouldn't have to do it every time.
     
  14. John_Bonner

    John_Bonner Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this for XBOX Live only?
    I tried it on mine last night and didn't see any difference.
    I'm not on XBOX Live.
     
  15. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,639
    Likes Received:
    618
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    Yes, you need to have XBL, otherwise how would the dash get upgraded? I imagine XBox Magazine will include it in one of its demo discs.
     
  16. AlbertA

    AlbertA Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 1999
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0


    Well, yes and no.
    You don't need to be subscribed to XBL to get the dash update. I'm not currently subscribed to XBL and I got the upgrade. Of course, you need to have the XBOX connected to the internet.
     
  17. Brad_C

    Brad_C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I read somewhere that we won't get progressive scan dvd playback because it would have cost MS money to put the DVD logo on the Xbox.... or something like that. Anyone hear something similar?
     

Share This Page