What's new

Will this work? (1 Viewer)

Rob Rockley

Auditioning
Real Name
Jeremy
Hi, I'm kind of new to home theater. I hope no one minds a few newb questions.

Really, I'm wondering if there are any major differences between home theater and automotive speakers. I know this is a pretty dumb question. But, I've got 4 Focal Polyglass component sets and 2 old JL Audio 12W4 subs sitting in my garage from previous car stereo builds. I've been toying around the idea of putting together an AV room in the basement. Is there any chance that I could build enclosures for all for the speakers and use them in in my home theater?

I was thinking that I would use the two 6.5" components for the fronts and the 2 5.25" sets for the surround and center. Then, put one (or both) of the subs in a ported enclosure.

Would it sound okay? Are there any major acoustic differences between car audio and home theater speakers?

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Properly designed car audio speakers are made to be listened to off-axis (not pointed directly at the listener). Sit down in the driver seat and see where your door speakers are pointing. Your left knee most of the time. The tweeter may be mounted a little higher but they are never pointed exactly at you. Put them in a proper enclosure and point them at you and they may sound harsh.

Not only are there acoustical differences (above), there are mechanical differences as well. More than likely, they are 4 ohm nominal speakers. If your A/V receiver can push a 4 ohm load, it will work harder doing so. Some won't work at all. Because they are designed to be mounted in an infinite baffle (the door), the speakers probably have a high Qts. You would need to measure the Thiele/Small parameters to build a proper enclosure.