Will a Ground-Loop Isolator work with a Digital Cable Box?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Graeme Shiomi, Sep 7, 2001.

  1. Graeme Shiomi

    Graeme Shiomi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got a question about using a Ground Loop Isolator with Digital Cable. I understand (from something I read), that the Ground Loop Isolator will NOT work with Digital Satellite Feeds because DSS systems use DC voltages on the coax for the receiver to control the LNB on the dish. You can not isolate the ground and still pass those control signals.
    However, what about Digital Cable feeds? Would filtering the DC Voltages on a Digital Cable feed render the Digital Cable unusable?
    Thanks,
    Graeme
     
  2. Henry W

    Henry W Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Digital cable uses an analog signal by the time it reaches you. The digital signal is into the cable dish and their receiving equipment. An analog signal is passed from there into your home.
    Best regards-Henry
    ------------------
     
  3. Gene Severn

    Gene Severn Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 1999
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends on your cable system. We have a Scientific Atlanta 3100 box. Channels under 100 are analog, channels over 100 are digital. You must check the passband of the ground isolator. It must be greater than or equal to 1 GHz. Anything below will degrade from the quality.
     

Share This Page