What's new

Why is there so little written about sound design? (1 Viewer)

Mark Kalzer

Second Unit
Being a studying film student, I am astonished that I am in my 4th year, and almost nothing has been taught regarding sound design. Most we got was a discussion about the very introduction of sound, and the restraining effect it had on performances, and the later integration of it stylistically in 'His Girl Friday' (A great film I might add.)

As I perused the books at the Toronto reference Library, (When I should have been reading about political science of course!) I saw plenty of books about all the usual topics, Scorsese, Hitchcock, cinematography, but why is there nothing on sound design? Even if there is stuff written on it, which I'm sure there is at least in some small corner of a library somewhere, why is so little written on it, something that has been a part of film for well over 80 years now.

When I think to films like 'Requiem For a Dream', films that really use today's advanced surround sound systems aggressively, I really wonder why. Perhaps part of it could be that 5.1 may still be seen by many academics as a sheer gimmick, used for cheap amusement park like effects to wow the audience. Indeed, I'm a projectionist at Carleton University, and nowhere do we have 5.1 sound, just lots of stereo setups instead. It could also be because sound, even more then the visual is so dependent on the equipment it is played back on. Whatever the case, sound is clearly still an undervalued part of the film experience. So many people I've known love to listen to loud music, but expect their movie volume to be peaceful and toned down, of course leading to extreme annoyance at the dynamic range of today's DTS and Dolby Digital sound tracks.