What's new

What's the state of fusion? (1 Viewer)

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Let me start off by saying that I am very new to jazz fusion. In the last two weeks I have bought the original CD, remastered CD, and SACD of Miles Davis In A Silent Way, and I absolutely love the groove of the album. Today, I listened to my original and remastered CDs of Bitches Brew twice each, which of course, is another classic Miles album. I love the sound of both albums. Is anyone turning out quality jazz fusion today? If so, which artists? Which albums? In addition to any newer material, what are some other classic fusion albums I should check out, given my liking for the two aforementioned Miles albums? Thanks in advance.

John Watson

Screenwriter
Don't know if there is really a definition of fusion - I think it meant jazz absorbing or influencing rock. Lots of Fender Rhodes electric piano and stuff?

I kind of like a few Deodato CD's, and have one Gary Burton Cd that falls into that area.

Today, I'm not sure if there is any fusion unless you count sampling. I liked something by US3 a decade or so ago, which was rap and funk. But I found the lyrics far short of the sublime beats they affected.

Fusion. Fission.

Guess I could go fishin?

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy
Keith, the 80's was the high point of the jazz-rock fusion era. Try albums by Brand X and absolutely get Bill Bruford's FEELS GOOD TO ME & ONE OF A KIND. :) Best wishes!

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Rachael and John,
Thanks for the comments.
Rachael,
I've never gotten into Bill Bruford. Perhaps I should. :)

Mike Broadman

Senior HTF Member
Keith, the 80's was the high point of the jazz-rock fusion era.
Rachael, with all respect, it most certainly was NOT.
Sorry, but that's just how I feel. :)