What multiswitch do I need?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohnMW, Jan 2, 2002.

  1. JohnMW

    JohnMW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this elliptical dish (24x18) and (2) dual output LNB's (one for 101 & one for 119). The current multiswitch has LNB (2) A & (2) B inputs, plus 2 outputs. Each LNB has (2) coaxial cables and all (4) connect to the current multiswitch.
    All the replacement multiswitches I see have single LNB inputs.
    I only have the one Hughes HD receiver, and I only plan to add one more receiver down the road. What is the BEST multiswitch I can buy?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You have a 4x2 multi-switch. Those are rare with an eliptical dish. You are OK if you are going to add a single tuner receiver. If you are adding DirecTivo or Ultimate TV, then you need a 4x4 multi-switch. Parts Express carries the TrunkLine model. I've also read where you can get similar models on Ebay for around $50. Just look for 4x4 or 5x4 types.
    -Robert
     
  3. Kevin_Kr

    Kevin_Kr Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a used 4 in 4 out, i would let go chea if you need it.
     
  4. JohnMW

    JohnMW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was mainly concerned about my current multiswitch MHz rating. Is 50 - 1450MHz acceptable or should I have a 2200MHz multiswitch?

    Do you need to reconfigure the dish reception when you change the multiswitch?
     
  5. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Thought I'd resurrect this thread, rather than start a new one:

    My current situation:

    Regular dish (no locals or HD here) with dual LNB. One LNB cable runs to my living room. The other runs to my basement (Home Theater). I want to run another cable to my bedroom and use a standalone DirecTV reciever that I already have. There is also the potential that I may want to run to an additional bedroom in the future.

    What kind of multiswitch do I need/should I get?

    Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide...
     
  6. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You need a 2x4 (or 3x4) like this..
    -Robert
     

Share This Page