What's new

Want more power for my Polk's (1 Viewer)

Paul Mor

Stunt Coordinator
I'm pretty new to HT, so I apologize if this is completely off the wall. I'm driving Polk LSi 7's with an H/K 7200. I think it sounds great, but have read that the Polk's need lots of power to sound their best. Anyway, I have a 10-15 year old Technics shelf system that is seldom used anymore. It has an intergrated amp, but I wasn't sure if I could use it in comjunction with my H/K to bi-amp the Polk's. Here's what I was thinking (this may give some of you a good laugh): hook my pre-out on the H/K to an input of the Technics such as CD. Will this give me improvement, will it even work, or will I ruin everything? Thanks for any help.

Paul

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
I have an HK AVR110, lowly 50x2 in stereo.

I recently shelved it and installed an HK 2 channel pre thet feeds a Yamaha M-4, 120x2.

The HK AVR sounded better, but it could be a DAC issue (better DAC in the AVR than the DVD player I use?).

My point is, power didn't help me.

Now - do I go try another source, install an outboard DAC, or what?

Be careful...this could lead to paradise or hell.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
A receiver and an integrated amp are not the same thing. An integrated is basically a quality amp with a volume control, while a receiver handles processing as well and typiclally will not perform as well as an integrated. I would figure the amp in your shelf system would actually be a step DOWN, and would not help at all. The LSi7s should be fine with that receiver, but if you want more power, look at external amps.

Will-Layfield

Stunt Coordinator