What's new

Too warm, need brightness! (1 Viewer)

itai

Stunt Coordinator
Hi all
I find myself tuning the treble up, god forbid!..., because i think my setup isnt bright enough. not always, but at least 60% of the stuff I hear (ht and music alike), needs more resolution. the info is there, but it need some encouregment to reveal itself...
it's a Denon 3802, mated to Paradigm Studio 60v2's, a CC and a couple of ADP's.
I have it for six months now, and I was thinking, maybe it needs better cables, cause I'm using the wires I got from the shop. (bi-wired, kinda thick looking cable).
as you can see I'm no expert, just want the detail!
btw, my hearing is good, i also see and smell normally!
:)

John F. Palacio

Supporting Actor
IMHO: If turning up the treble does the trick for you then by all means. Why spend the money on "tone control" cables?
I know there will be purists out there that would say "no way José" and will advise you to get other speakers:"On the other hand, it may well be those speakers aren't for you and perhaps something like klipsch might be more in order" or what have you.
I have not hesitated to use tone controls (always slightly) to tailor sound to my room acoustics/speakers/taste

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
glad to hear the vitals signs are ok! cables aren't going to solve your problem. they are not tone controls. usually people want to take the edge off things so to speak. what've you done in the way of calibrating your system and working on the positioning of the speakers? they're not tucked away in the corners are they? are they toed in (you can use an inexpensive laser pointer to help)? where are the tweeters with respect to your ears? maybe lifting them a bit might matters better. is your room unusual in the sense that its a peculiar shape?
kicking up the treble is not necessarily a bad thing after all our likes/dislikes vary from person to person and of course none of our rooms are the same.