Time Warner HD cable

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by BrentWatkins, Feb 24, 2002.

  1. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone tried warner's hd cable service yet? i'm supposedly on their waiting list and will be hooked up once their order of hd converter boxes arrives. just curious if anyone had any insight on what i can look forward to (or not look forward to).
     
  2. Ross Waite

    Ross Waite Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on the same list. I would love to hear reports on the HD cable as well.

    One question...if you are receiving HD CBS, how can you record the programming (SD or HD)? Are SD and HD channels separate?

    -Ross
     
  3. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    The local HD and SD feeds are separate....You would not be able to record off the HD feed...I do not have TWC HD cable but a friend does and it just like any other HD whether off a Satellite or OTA it looks great...
     
  4. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't know of any equipment that will record HD. maybe those new D-VHS decks can?

    what would be slick is a tivo-like device that could operate on HD signals.
     
  5. Larry Geller

    Larry Geller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    2
    In NYC we are getting 4 channels: HBO on ch 701; CBS on ch 702; SHO on ch 703; and NBC on ch 704. PQ is just fine. ABC, PBS and FOX have been down since 9/11 (as was NBC, but it came back just in time for the Olympics).
     
  6. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    now that just makes me jealous; in columbus they are only offering CBS, HBO, and SHO.

    when you say the picture quality is "just fine", do you mean that in a bad way, like "merely ok"?
     
  7. Stephen Teffner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 1999
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure you can record HD. If you make yourself a HTPC (home theater PC) you can use it as a version of the TIVO. Unfortunately the video card in one of those things is about 400. and then you need a lot of hard drive space. Head on over to the avsforum.com and they have a section there for the HTPC.

    Stephen Teffner
     
  8. Larry Geller

    Larry Geller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    2
    "Just fine" as in just fine with me, but I hear HD reception is better with an antenna. Since I'm the only person I know that HAS HDTV, I have nothing to compare it to!
     
  9. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since cable HD is 256QAM, not 8VSB, and Warner's HD boxes don't have firewire out (yet), there is no way to record the HD with a PC or D-VHS deck.

    As far as the picture being worse, Warner at one time expressed that they were not planning on performing additional compression (which is the only thing that could reduce the picture quality).
     
  10. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    the flyer i got from warner said that you needed a tv with component video inputs. but there was an asterisk, and below it said it was also compatible with IEEE 1394 and H-Sync/V-Sync inputs (i'm not familiar with the latter).
     
  11. Stephen Teffner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 1999
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Michael: Sorry I should have made my statement differently. You can use a HTPC with an OTA and record that way. I know your'e not going to be able to record HD off of the TW box. I just thought he wanted to record HD, he didn't specify signal type.

    Stephen Teffner
     
  12. Ross Waite

    Ross Waite Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1998
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats good info regarding recording. I knew that recording HD was essentially out of the question. I was just worried that once the move to HD was made (example CBS), would that prevent me from recording the shows in any form? If there is a SD channel for the same program, then I won't miss any programing.

    When I called TWC, they implied "very soon" for the implementation of HD. They also told me that it would be the same fee as their SD digital service. Not bad...

    -Ross
     
  13. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  14. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just put myself on the waiting list in NYC. It's a 4-5 month wait. [​IMG]
    M.
     
  15. ZachD

    ZachD Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was on the waiting list as well throughout January and had my install on Feb. 15th. I think it is terrific, with the exception of having to switch inputs to toggle back and forth between HD and SD(not a huge deal though). Seems that CBS has better PQ than HBO HD or SHO HD though. From what I've been told effective May 1st the Columbus market will begin receiving ABC, NBC, UPN, FOX(480p most likely), and PBS.
     
  16. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    you were on the list in january? i called them in january and the customer service rep said they had no information yet about HDTV and to watch my mail. i only called them again recently because someone at work mentioned seeing an ad about it in the paper.

    i assume from your comment that the regular channels won't come out over the component video outputs? i looked on WBNS's (CBS) website for their digital channel schedule, and it looks like they broadcast most of the day. are all of those shows really filmed in high-def?
     
  17. Larry Geller

    Larry Geller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  18. ZachD

    ZachD Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  19. BrentWatkins

    BrentWatkins Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm.... maybe. i was told that they're waiting on a shipment of converter boxes to come in. what part of town do you live in? i live in the bexley area.
     
  20. Scott_G

    Scott_G Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had TW-HD for over 2 years now ... don't hate me.

    My 1st SD-2000 just bit the dust the other day. I called and asked if I could get a replacement. They said they kept a few for current subscribers. They gave me a brand new SD-2000 - I was hoping for the 3000. They are doing 3000's yet. New one does look a little cleaner.

    I would really like a second converter but I wouldn't feel right with people on 4 month long waiting lists.
     

Share This Page