What's new

the best tweeter for a speaker is???? (1 Viewer)

Lyden

Stunt Coordinator
alright ive heard that silk dome tweeters are the best of the best but howcome somany say those cheapo looking horn tweeters are better and even those pezeo(spelling?) electric tweeters are good? im no pro but i have a good ear and to me domes seem to sound the nicest.... but thats just me ... i guess earspliting distorted highs are the in thing these days. IMO thats how horns sound.... im working on a pair of towers and cant decide what i should use for tweeters i have a pair of domes lying around some where and i have some horns but none of those ones i cant spell .... haha ... pfft

RichardH

Supporting Actor
Piezo is cheap and not that great. You see it in lower-end PA speakers. Definitely not recommended for home use.

If you're building your own towers, there are plenty of options as far as tweeters go. How much do you want to spend??

You can get some decent soft domes for like $50 a pair on up to the Vifa XT tweeters as seen on the $40k Krell speakers. Even these are less than $200/pr.

BrianWoerndle

Supporting Actor
There is no best tweeter. It is all in the implementation. What other drivers and how they crossover will greatly affect the sound of the tweeter.

But in general, Tweeters made of metal (Titanium or Aluminum) are crisp, but bright, silks are smoother, and horns are very efficient. Any can work extreamly well, if implementated correctly.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
To add to what Brian said, you can put the best tweeter available into a speaker, but if the crossover is not properly designed, it can still sound like garbage.

Soft domes sound the best to me overall, but there are plenty of metal domes that sound great to me as well. My home speakers all use titanium domes. I am not a big fan of most mass market speakers with horn loaded tweeters.

BTW: you are not allowed to list your gear in your signature.

Brett DiMichele