What's new

Taxes and deductions...(it's coming sooner than you think) (1 Viewer)

JimC_A

Stunt Coordinator
I need some LEGAL advice for tax deductions this year. The main concern is a settlement I am receiving from a personal injury case involving a car accident. Anyone care to advise?

nolesrule

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Kauffman
One thing I've learned about the IRS...when in doubt, consult an accountant or a tax attourney.

Of course, that's the exact reason I have my dad do my taxes.

StephenK

Stunt Coordinator
I'm not a lawyer, I'm not a doctor, yadda yadda yadda..

It's my understanding that compensatory damages (lost wages) are taxable but Pain & suffering are not, which is why plaintiffs try to load it that way. Don't know about punitive damages.

and yes, consult a professional

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
It's my understanding that compensatory damages (lost wages) are taxable but Pain & suffering are not
Damages for pain and suffering are compensatory damages.
Jim, hire a professional. Legal advice over the internet isn't privileged, gives you no defense in an audit and no rights against the professional if the advice turns out to be bad. And since no reputable professional would offer advice in this fashion, anything you get wouldn't be reliable.
M.

Paul Jenkins

Supporting Actor
I disagree about hiring a professional. In most cases I've seen, the tax code is easy enough to read to figure it out on your own. That is, if you are willing to invest the time to read it and understand it, and feel you are capable of doing so. I had an accountant do my taxes for a number of years, mainly from a time savings standpoint. However, when the bill topped $1000 I finally had enough and did my own taxes. It took me about 15 hours last year, and will take considerably less this year because I'm up on the IRS code now and feel confident that I don't need to read things 3 times like I did last year :)