What's new

Suggestions on DIY sub (1 Viewer)

boomski

Auditioning
Real Name
Phillip
Hello fellow HTF Members,
I have two cerwin vega dx7 3 way floorstanding speakers that I do not use in my current HT setup. I want to take the 12" subs from these speakers and build new enclosures for them to use as 5.1 subs. I have plenty of experience just fiddling with car stereo and building sub boxes but nothing was ever done mathematically, (most were built to fit area in trunk and modified with foam or porting). I could possibly try some sub enclosure software but I have no experience with it and do not know some of the specs for these speakers that the programs need inputted. I can certainly construct the box and know of the importance of materials used, bracing, air tightness, etc, I would just rather not guess on the dimensions and waste alot of time and material trying to find the right size and type of enclosure. any and all help would be greatly appreciated, and a million thanks for a useful reply!

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Those are not subs, those are woofers. Big difference. They are designed to play low but not as low as a real sub. Also, you can't get the Theile/Small parameters of those drivers without testing them with Woofer Tester 3 ($100 from Parts Express).

What you can do is create a generic box and install them with the expectation that you will replace them at a later time with better drivers. For example, a 4cf box tuned to 20hz would probably sound good with about 100w. You could later upgrade to the 12" Dayton DVC for about $120. With a 250w amp, you would get about 3db more output since the excursion of the Dayton is probably double that of the CV.

-Robert

boomski

Auditioning
Real Name
Phillip
Thanks for the reply robert