What's new

subwoofer cabinet kits? (1 Viewer)

Philip_G

Senior HTF Member
Has anyone tried any of the subwoofer cabinets that parts express (and I'm sure others) sell? I was considering trying to build a first DIY sub with one of their sealed 10" boxes (1.0 cu ft) and a 10" driver, titanic maybe, or something else if there are any suggestions.
Unfortunately I don't have access to any shop equipment, so cutting is a bit of a problem for me
frown.gif

Phil,
I have no experience with the PE sub enclosure kits. But based on my experience with MDF these should be very rigid enclosures. The only thing that you have to make sure is that you seal them well to minimize any air leakage.
If I were you I would go to your local woodworking shop, whether it be Lowe's, Home Depot, etc...and ask them to cut a full 3/4" or 1" MDF sheet (4' x 8') and tell them to cut it down to your specification needs. They may charge $1-$1.50 per cut/rip, but it will be almost half the cost of the PE 1.0 cu ft enclosure that they offer. Trust me on this! If you want I would be kind enough to place some enclosure dimensions via AutoCAD and see what type of enclosure cutouts you need.
Also If I were you I wouldn't limit yourself to a single 1 cu ft enclosure. Now if you have space and wife issues then you should consider going small, but if you have room that can accomdate a larger enclosure (maybe 2-3 cu ft) then you will probably get more satisfaction with the bass performance. Now it also depends on your listening needs/tastes. If you want sealed sub then you will compensate a few dB's down below. However, on the bright side a sealed enclosure is relatively small in size and gives off tight/punchy bass (which some say objectively). Although some say that ported or PR subs sound quick and tight in comparison to sealed enclosures. All in all it depends on how well the sub is designed...!