Sub Cable?

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by AbelM, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there guys',

    I am moving, in about 3 days and just realized that my sub cable is too short (mind you I bought the longest one there is) to reach the place I WANT TO PUT IT. Is there any kind of special connector that could connect 2 sub cables together to make it reach?


    Thanx A Million,
    Abe
     
  2. GrahamT

    GrahamT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes there are inline rca style connectors at radio shack. They go for 3 bucks.
     
  3. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    And radio shack sells really long RCA cables too, for cheap.
     
  4. Juan Castillo

    Juan Castillo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to hijack.. but this may answer a question for me as well... Does any rca cable work fine? I have a 50 foot analog set. Does a "real" subwoofer cable work differently?
    Better shielding, different impedence?? I have it connected now, and it sounds fine to my untrained ears, but wondering if I go through the trouble to run this in the walls will work OK. Sorry again..
     
  5. Neil Joseph

    Neil Joseph Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 1998
    Messages:
    8,332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Neil Joseph
    Moving to Connections.
     
  6. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Juan: Any rca cable should work fine. You'll want to use a well-shielded one for long runs though.

    --Chris
     
  7. Norm

    Norm Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Norm
    Will my Monster Interlink 300 MKII work as a good Subwoofer cable? I have it connected to a Monster Y adapter, but the directions in my new Yamaha Subwoofer booklet says just connect it to the one cable jack in the Mono L. As if theres no need for the Y Adapter. Any thoughts?
     
  8. AbelM

    AbelM Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Norm, you do not need a Y connector for Yamaha subs (or for your case). I have a Yamaha Sub (for about 4 years now), and I have just went from my reciever directly into the Mono/L. Works like a charm [​IMG]
     
  9. Norm

    Norm Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Norm
    I am using the Y, as I was advised by the Best Buy & Circuit City Techs. It seems to work fine.
     
  10. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    A y connector is unneccesary and provides no benefit. The two inputs get summed together into mono, so it doesnt matter whether you connect one, or the other, or both. Obviously, not buying the y connector saves you a couple bucks, so there's no real need for it. Buy yourself a candy bar or something instead [​IMG] .
     
  11. Norm

    Norm Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Norm
    Ok, I will return the Y.
     
  12. Jeremy Little

    Jeremy Little Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    I disagree with the notion that it has no benefit, I've heard it with my own ears. Try plugging in one and then both and listen to the boost in sound. As a matter of fact, the Klipsch sub owner's manual explains the reasoning behind it and advises using a Y for the most punch.
     
  13. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    All it does is provide a boost in dB. You get the same thing by turning up the volume... it's the exact same thing either way. IT's only a couple bucks for the y adapter, so that's fine, but i mean there's no benefit to using one. If you want it louder, turn it up....
     
  14. Norm

    Norm Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Norm
    I guess I'll keep it then.
     
  15. Lam Nguyen

    Lam Nguyen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    A y connector does boost the dB a little bit, I say just keep it and save the trouble of going to return it.
     
  16. Dave McC

    Dave McC Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you use the y connector, the boost in db will be an undistorted boast. Turning up the volume on am amplifier, depending on quality, will yield a gain of distortion as well. Use the y connector.
     
  17. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Look it doesn't make much difference. I just find that many people think they NEED to go buy a Y connector, and this is totally not needed. If you have one already, just use it if you want. The gain doesn't matter. By using a Y-connector your pre-amp is using more power, and you can clip things there, or increase distortion. Or you can jut turn up the sub, which will likely be less problematic than clipping the pre-outs, which can do that if you have it adjusted too loud in the menus, and are listening to a loud scene.
     

Share This Page