What's new
World Wide Stereo

Stripping Coax tips (1 Viewer)

Chuck Paskovics

Stunt Coordinator
I just got my belden 7787a bundled coax, a stripper, and a crimpter in today. I bought a little extra wire to practice with. I've never done this before so i'm not sure what is supposed to be stripped and what is not.

I'm connecting this to a one piece crimp style bnc connector.

When I strip the wire, most of the braid seems to get stripped off too. Is this a problem? The aluminum under the braid stays intact. I haven't tried to crimp yet, just slid the wire on the connector. It seems to go on ok. I'm just concerned about all the braid getting stripped too. I've got the blade on the lowest setting, but it still clips about half the braid away.

Any tips here? I've done a ton of searches to see how to do this properly, but no luck as of yet.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
It’s working correctly. The braid is supposed to strip off. Don’t know how your BNC’s are supposed to work, but regular RF connectors have an internal sleeve that slips down between the black jacket and the electrolyte. ( I think that’s what it’s called, but I may have the name wrong – it’s the white covering for the center conductor, surrounded by the aluminum.) When you crimp the connector, the sleve, braid and aluminum will all have firm contact.

Again, that’s the way it is with RF connectors. Can’t vouch for your BNC’s but if they’re designed for coaxial cable, they should be the same.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Leo Kerr

Screenwriter
BNCs are usually a bit different than RF connectors - more specifically, the "F" connectors.

As an aside, it isn't "electolyte" - that's the stuff in capacitors. Unfortunately, now, I'm drawing a blank on--- DILECTRIC! That's it.