What's new

Strange idea.... (1 Viewer)

Gianluca

Agent
I just got an idea...

What if I built a 5 ways speaker system?

1" tweeter;
3" midrange;
6" midrange;
8" woofer;
12"(sub)woofer.

each of the drivers would be timbre matching and all of them in a different box, with external Xovers.

Would this configuration have any results?

This is not a joke... I'd like to hear some opinions from the experienced DIYers.

Thanks.

A

Anthony_Gomez

2 ways are challenging
3 ways aren't for the faint of heart.
4 ways...have only seen done successfully by some VERY experienced people ...rarely.
5 ways ....ummm...no thank you!!!

:-D

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
This is not a joke... I'd like to hear some opinions from the experienced DIYers.
Well this VERY experienced builder suggests using the fewest number of drivers and XO points for the best performance.

A good two way combined with a sub offers the best performance IMHO.......

I'm not an expert, by any means, but I know what sounds good to me. My speakers are a pair of Dunlavy SM-1's and a McCormack amp. Those speakers (which are just tweeters and 6" mids) are only off -1.5db at 60Hz. Many other brands and DIY speakers are capable of similar performance, so I'm not quite sure what you'd gain by adding more and more drivers other than coloration from the crossover points. Sure, you might get better dynamics, but how loud do we all listen anyway?! Personally, I LOVE my speakers and once I finish my AV15 subwoofer to fill in the area below 55, I think I'll be one happy clam :)

Like I said, I'm not an expert... that's just my opinion. Less is almost always more.

RichardHOS

Second Unit