What's new

speakers--mix and match? (1 Viewer)

ArnabC

Grip
hello all. i am a brand new member and this is my first post. i am almost completely a novice when it comes to home theater and i am glad to have found this forum. doubtless i'll have many questions over the years but here's one to start things off:

how bad an idea is it (if indeed it is a bad idea) to mix and match speakers from different manufacturers in a home-theater setup?

i ask because i began to put together a midlevel home-theater setup some years ago on the very long-term plan. i was a grad student then and all i could afford were a decent receiver (denon avr3300) and a pair of front speakers (boston vr940s). now that i have a little more money (just a little) and a home in which a home-theater setup won't look completely ridiculous i am almost ready to add the rest of the speakers. my problem? boston acoustics is not carried by any of the electronics retailers in my area.

my options seem to be to

a) have them shipped expensively from somewhere else

b) ditch my current vr940s and start from scratch with a brand new 5.1 package

or

c) add speakers from a different manufacturer to the mix.

thoughts? i am wary of option a. i am hesitant to follow option b since these vr940s are excellent, excellent speakers. this leaves me with option c but i don't know if this is a good idea--i've always thought (perhaps mistakenly) that all the speakers should be of the same brand and series. true? not true? if not, can anyone recommend a more readily available brand that might match the boston vr940s well?

thanks in advance!

arnab

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
It’s obviously best to have all the speakers matching, but it’s not the end of the world if that’s not possible. If you go with mis-matched, try to find something as close to your Bostons as possible, with similar drivers and in the same price range.