What's new

Speaker selectin to go with my system (1 Viewer)

Don_Ketchum

Auditioning
Hi,

After reading these boards for some time, I finally signed up. I am pretty new to home theater and it's amazing how much this forum can help. I'm at the early stages of building a new home and this theater room is all I can think about. The room size is 14x26.

Below is what I am planning (as of now) to purchase. I was hoping some of you could give me your opinion as to whether or not I am making good selections and that the equipment will work well together. I don't have any friends that are into audio equipment and I don't live near places where I can see demos of audio or video equipment, so I pretty much am going with opinions from forums. Thanks in advance for any input.

Studio Experience Cinema 20HD projector
Da-Lite or Stewart screen
Harman Kardon AVR-525 receiver
JBL S-Center
JBL S38 fronts
JBL N24 (4)surround
SVS 25-31PCI sub

Chris Quinn

Screenwriter
I think most of us don't have experience with front projection. Also most here would beef up the audio, speakers especially, to match the video set up you are looking at.

It is kind of like you're are getting the Porsche and putting an old VW engine in it. The JBL's are nice speakers for the price. But, why not bring your audio up to match your video?

You may get more help in the displays section. Many of us that hang around speakers/subs give more weight to the audio part of our setups than to our video.

Charles Gurganus

Supporting Actor
Don, thats a pretty big room. I am not sure the JBL's will do the job though. To help us help you, can you just give us a budget for what you can spend on speakers and receiver together? The sub should be ok. It looks like you are budgeting about $1500 for the speakers, sub and receiver, is that about right?