What's new

speaker distance problems and surround issues (1 Viewer)

Dustin Wind

Stunt Coordinator
my rig and i'm a complete newbie:
Kardon 325
pioneer 463A DvD
JBL N24 - surround
JBL N26 - back
JBL N38II - front

Ok, my room is set up very BAD and there is nothing i can do (girlfriend is the boss).

In my sitting position my SURROUND RIGHT is 3 feet away. My SURROUND LEFT is 7 feet away.
This makes for BAD surround and i can hardly hear the surround at all.

On my receiver i have to choose how far away my speakers are....so what should i pick since they are not the same distance? I think i have it set to 5 feet right now. Also i need to choose how far away the speakers are with my DvD player....how many feet should i say?

Should i turn up my SURROUND LEFT a few DB's so i can hear it? I can barely hear any surround from it at the moment. I can't hear very much coming from my SURROUND RIGHT either though...even though its so close.
Should i mabye also turn the right up if i have to do the left?

All 7 speakers are set to 75DB with the new video essentials.

Sorry if this confusing, i really need some help and suggestions/tips.

Thanks all in advance.

KostaVan

Grip
She's not your wife dude...do whatever the hell you want

If you are on a leash or pusswhipped, you should sit in the listening position and do the pink tone test and increase db so they sound the same.

JackLonn

Agent
Wow. That's not a very sensitive response. The correct response is DX her. One can't live ones life for someone else. They either toe the line, or hit the road; unless of course they're paying the bills.

On a serious side, try to get her involved and hear that it makes a difference.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph