What's new

Speaker and Sub Tweaks for mud (1 Viewer)

Jim Ritter

Auditioning
I just set up my first home theater. I went with an Onkyo TX-SR600, JVC XV-FA90 DVD Player, Polk RTi28s, FXi30s, and the CSi130. I have an Infinity BU2 as well.

I have two questions for the hookup gurus:

What is the best way to hook up the sub? I'm reading that it is preferrable to run speaker wire from the receiver to the sub, then to the mains. I have it that way now. Which brings me to question two.

I am finding the overall sound slightly muddy. I'm loving life because I've never had digital surround sound before, but at the same time I'd be happier with slightly clearer sound. Is this a Polk thing? Or is it my room, or is it the sub? How about tweaking or settings?

I'm new to all this so I'd appreciate and pointers or suggested readings. I read the HT Primer that was immensely helpful!

Thanks
Jim

DavidES

Stunt Coordinator
I'm kinda of a noob to terms.

What does "muddy" sound like to a layman?

I've heard the term before, but I'm like you, I'm new to the audiophile side of things and trying to describe audio problems.

Jim Ritter

Auditioning
Well, maybe I mean bassy. My system thumps, but is less clear on the highs and mids than I would like.

There are several settings that just confuse me though, so it could be any one of these. For instance, how do I know where to adjust the decibals for each speaker? The Onkyo gives me the option of 0-12dbls. In addition, I have the option of setting each speaker's distance from the listening position. I understand the difference between volume and delay (feet away) in theory but I'm having a hard time with it in practice.

Or more possibly, I should go out and buy the cable to hook the subwoofer to the receiver without going through the front mains channel, and then I could set the mains to "small" instead of "large."

I guess a lot of this will come with time and listening.

Jim

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member