What's new

Speaker advice for Denon 3805? (Noob warning) (1 Viewer)

JasonMichael

Auditioning
Hello all -
I am relatively new to the world of home theater, although I have been a car audio buff since I turned 16. I've finally saved up some cash and am ready to replace the old Kenwood HTIB setup I've been running since my college days. I've been doing extensive research on HTF the last few days, and here's what I've decided on/ordered so far:

Denon AVR-3805 receiver
Denon DVM-2815 DVD changer
Samsung HLN617W 61" DLP HDTV monitor

I'm looking to drop around $2500 (negotiable) on the rest of the 7.1 setup. Here's what I'm considering:

Setup 1:
Polk RTi12 towers*
Polk CSi5 center
Polk RTi4 bookshelves (rear fill)
Polk FXi3 surrounds (side fill)
SVS PC-Ultra sub

Setup 2:
Infinity Alpha 50 towers
Infinity Alpha 37c center
Infinity Alpha 20 bookshelves (rear fill)
Infinity Alpha 25ES surrounds (side fill)
SVS PC-Ultra sub

Setup 3:
Axiom M80ti towers**/***
Axiom VP150 center
Axiom M22ti bookshelves (rear fill)
Axiom QS8 surrounds (side fill)
SVS PC-Ultra sub

* - Will there be a noticeable performance increase over the RTi10s? Also, are the LSis worth the extra $$$ over the RTis?
** - The M80tis are rated at 4ohms; my 3805 is listed as stable down to 6ohms. Can the 3805 handle the M80tis?
*** - Will there be a noticeable performance increase over the M60tis?

I've listened to the Polks at the local Circuit City and was impressed, but the listening environment obviously left something to be desired. I am not able to audition the Alphas or the Axioms here. Cost is somewhat of a factor, but I'd rather spend a bit more now and not contract upgraditis in the next year...

A couple things about my setup. The room where the setup will be located is approximately 25Lx12Wx9H. My HT will be used for both movies and music, but primarily movies (90/10). I don't need to level the neighborhood but I would like to be able to scare them should I so choose. ;-)