Settings for Pioneer Elite Pro 520HD??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JoeyT, Oct 27, 2002.

  1. JoeyT

    JoeyT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,
    Just made a closeout purchase on the Pioneer Elite Pro 520HD and could not be more excited.
    The new set arrives Tuesday and I am interested in settings that any of you that own this set have made or features you recommend enabling/disabling. I want to get it up and running prime ASAP.
    Thanks for the tips in advance.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. greg_t

    greg_t Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have one of these yet, as I'm waiting on the 530 to come out, but the best way to start is to pick up a copy of Avia or video essentials so you can get the contrast, sharpness, etc. set right. I've also read that you should leave the set on continously for the first 100 hours, but I would get that confirmed by one of our local HTF calibrators before I would do it.
     
  3. Michael_V

    Michael_V Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1999
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. JoeyT

    JoeyT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    Ordered AVIA just a few minutes ago.

    I was considering waiting for the 530, but at the deep discount level on the remaining 520s I could not justify the added cost of DVI input.

    Anyone have any other suggestions:
    -like do you use the black enhance?
    -Light level meter that sets brightness automatically?
    -color/contrast/etc... levels you use? (my goal is to fine tune my set if possible and not reinvent the wheel if I dont have to).

    Thanks again!
     
  5. Matt_Key

    Matt_Key Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    On your dvd input, before you setup with avia, turn off svm, black level enhance, fleshtone, and the auto brightness.

    On your cable/sat input you may want to play with these options as channel quality can vary.

    Matt
     

Share This Page