What's new

Satellite (DirecTV)...pros vs. cons? (1 Viewer)

Grady Hollums

Second Unit
Real Name
D.G. Hollums
OK, I am about to take the leap into Satellite and I was wondering what exactly are the pros and cons to the Satellite (DirecTV).

Some of what I have heard:

Pros :emoji_thumbsup::
  • non-local HD shows (My Cable provider has no HD so this is a Pro for me)
  • Digital picture and digital sound even with Food Network!
  • lots more channels (Like TechTV that my cable don't have)
  • can take DirecTV with me where ever I move (I am a UM Pastor and move a lot!)
  • The installation is free

Cons :thumbsdown::
  • Heard bad reception in rain, snow, wind, etc... (Is this True? And exactly how bad is it?)
  • Have to sign up for a year at least (DirecTV)
  • Might not get local channels and/or w/wo HD local (But I already have an antenna for local HD)
  • Costs more money than Cable when you add the HD channels
  • HD channels are not full HD quality because of so many channels taking up bandwidth (is this true of Cable too?)

OK, anyone have any answers to the stated questions?

What about any personal testimonies?

Any one switch from satellite to cable for some reason? (Very interested in knowing this)

Thanks in advance for all your help and I apprecite all that this forum does for HT, HD, and DVD heh.:D

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
I tried Time Warner cable from Memphis for 29 days of a 30 day free trial. Hated it. The digital channels had constant break-up with drop-outs and macro blocking. The interface of the cable box was the worst I had ever seen. I put my Dish equipment back up and was happy. I switched to DirecTV for the DirecTivo and it's been the best thing I have ever done. I can't watch TV any more on the networks schedule.

-Robert

Grady Hollums

Second Unit
Real Name
D.G. Hollums
Thanks Robert!