Runco DTV-5800 based on what TV?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Paul McAdams, May 28, 2003.

  1. Paul McAdams

    Paul McAdams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello --

    Wondering if anyone out there can help... I have a Runco DTV-5800 and a new Radio Shack Kameleon remote. The remote has many pre-programmed code sets in it including about 5 or so for Runco televisions but unfortunately, none seem to work with my TV. I have managed to get all my other gear programmed in, so the remote works. Do any of the calibrators (or anyone else) know what TV the Runco is based on? I seem to remember that it was a mod of a Hitachi or maybe a Toshiba. I thought I might the code for the original TV and see if that works. Any thoughts on whether the modifications to make the TV a Runco would change the remote control codes (especially the basics like on/off.)

    Thanks.

    Paul McAdams
     
  2. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    hi Paul

    Im not totally versed on the Runco line but am taking the certification class with them next month. Im pretty sure it is a Toshiba clone. Give it a try.

    regards

    Gregg
     
  3. Paul McAdams

    Paul McAdams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gregg --

    Thanks for the info. I'll try it and let you know...

    Paul
     
  4. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    The tV is based on a Toshiba chasis.

    Regards
     
  5. Treg

    Treg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this TV and cannot seem to find the point of blooming no matter the contrast setting. Is there an alternative way to set the initial contrast correctly other than the Pluge, Needle Pulse, or Hi-Lo pattern so I can begin a calibration?
     
  6. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    You need a light meter and you are shooting for 15 to 20 ft-l of light based on a 100% white window box.

    The test discs tell you where "not to set" contrast ... not where to set it.

    Regards
     
  7. Rik P

    Rik P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Radio Shack Kameleon remote is a learning remote, as long as you have the orignal Runco remote you can just point the remote at the Kameleon and store the codes to the TV button.
    I have this remote and set it up to work with my Panny L300 PJ.

    Rick
     
  8. Treg

    Treg Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, so I use the pluge pattern to set brightness, then I put up the 100ire window and set contrast to measure 15-20 ft-l in the center, then I enter the service menu and set .313/.329 for 10ire and again for 100ire. After exiting the service menu, set the brightness/contrast/color/tint using pluge/100ire window/smpte color bars and my display should be both calibrated for very close to d65 and as bright as it should be?
     

Share This Page