What's new

RP-91 Audio Questions (1 Viewer)

Joined
Oct 1, 1999
Messages
22
All of the DVD-Audio discs that I now have are six channel, except for Casino Royale which is a two channel DVD-A disc. On my Denon 5700, using the direct digital input mode with Casino Royale gives a front panel display of 96k. Apparently, the RP-91 is passing 96k to my Denon 5700. None of my six channel DVD-A discs gives me the 96k display. Is Casino Royale different from my other DVD-A discs, and am I really getting 96k from my Denon 5700?
Now,when I try to use the remaster feature with CDs, I only get silence using the digital input to my Denon 5700. I have seen other posts from people who report that it works for them with a digital connection. Why does this not work for me when, apparently, my 5700 can handle sampling frequencies above 88.2 kHz?
Keith Smith
 

Craig F

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 5, 2001
Messages
276
Real Name
Craig
I looked up Casino Royale. It is not a DVD-A. It is a DAD (Digital Audio Disk) by Classic Records. Before DVD-A came out, two companies, Chesky and Classic, started releasing DVD-V disks using 2 channel 96K/24 audio.
BTW, your receiver has no way of knowing the sample rate of the DVD-A disks because the audio is output thru the 6 analog outs on the DVD player.
 

PatrickM

Screenwriter
Joined
Aug 10, 2000
Messages
1,138
As for your question about the re-sampling feature. The 5800 also cannot resolve the 88.2kHz sampling rate accurately. I can get it to work sometimes but the lock light never comes on so its pretty hit and miss.
Patrick
------------------
My DVD Collection
 

DanG

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Nov 19, 2000
Messages
140
Yes and you can include the 4800 into that list of not being able to lock onto 88.2 kHZ.
One thing that I have noticed, I like the DAC's sound of the Denon a little better than the RP91's. Seems to make the soundfield more spacious.
Although very pleased with the RP91 for video, listening to classical music using the analog outs and Remaster set at 2, I haven't heard as much difference as some other members have been alluding to.
 

PatrickM

Screenwriter
Joined
Aug 10, 2000
Messages
1,138
Dan,
I agree with you, I prefer the DAC's on the 5800 much more than the analog out of the RP91 with re-sampling. I much prefer to take the digital out of my CD player and use the Pure Direct mode in the 5800.
Patrick
------------------
My DVD Collection
 

DanG

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Nov 19, 2000
Messages
140
Well thats why we bought our Denon's isn't it :)
Actually I communicate with a few people that have the RP91 and their opinions I respect, so I found it odd that with the classical selections I've tried so far I don't hear a difference.
Rather than do a new post, I'll ask in this thread.
I have a 7.1 surround system (U-571 and the Denon=AWESOME) but this is now causing me a problem listening to DVD-A in analog mode. The sounds of the CORRS in 6ch is breathtaking. But it would be better if the surrounds were actually at the back. There not because the "normal" surrounds are in the middle of the home theatre as part of the 7.1 surround system.
The back surrounds are fed the Denons EFFECT/SB through an independant amp. When using DVD-A it is off and not in use. If I string additonal cables to the back surrounds from the Denons "B" speaker outputs, I could set EXT.IN to use the "B" speakers.
So my question is will the Denons output stage have an impedance problem downline with the shut off amp?
Or is there a better way to get the back surrounds to act as the normal surrounds when I listen to DVD-A in analog?
Thanks
Dan
 

Wayne_T

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jun 15, 2001
Messages
236
Now,when I try to use the remaster feature with CDs, I only get silence using the digital input to my Denon 5700. I have seen other posts from people who report that it works for them with a digital connection. Why does this not work for me when, apparently, my 5700 can handle sampling frequencies above 88.2 kHz?
This works fine for me. Have you set it up in the audio menu (the one you get to from the "action" key? You need to set Digital Audio Out to "On(Re-master on)".
------------------
 

DanG

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Nov 19, 2000
Messages
140
Yes I've double-checked all the settings. I've read on AVS that this has occured on other Denon models other than mine. Disappointing. Well I guess I'll have to stick to analogue to do remaster.
------------------
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
355,239
Messages
5,074,635
Members
143,847
Latest member
TheThrillisgone
Recent bookmarks
0
Top