What's new

Rotel 1065 vs. B&K AVR307 vs Pioneer 49TX opinions? (1 Viewer)

JeffHayes

Stunt Coordinator
Ok kids...

I need some help since my one and only local Paradigm Reference dealer carries NONE of those brands. I am looking to add one of these (or perhaps some other as yet undiscovered receiver) to my dedicated theater/listening room. It will be used for 50/50 music and movies.

With the obvious exception of the AVR307 which is not yet updated with the latest greatest decoders, how do all of these units compare from a quality of components, to audio quality, to overall feel i.e. "warm", "bright", etc...?

I know about the MCACC on the Pioneer, so we can probably skip the particulars on that... although that is a real nice feature and weighs nicely in the Pioneer's favor. I have no experience with Rotel gear per se... how does it compare to the alleged quality of components and amps used within the B&K stuff. I've read lots on the Pioneer unit having issues driving some speakers to "reference levels". I don't usually blow out the walls watching movies... but it would be nice to know that if I had it up at -10dB or something and the "Pod Race" was on that I wouldn't have my receiver shutdown.

FWIW, I will be running 5.1 at first with Paradigm Reference Studio 40, Studio CC and Studio ADP on the sides. I may add Studio 100 fronts and move the 40s to the back at a later date... or may just stick with 40s for the front AND the back.

Thanks for your help!

Regards,
Jeff in Houston

PS - Thanks to those who responded in my other thread about Paradigms.

Kyle_Y

Stunt Coordinator