What's new

Room Design (1 Viewer)

AlexWolf

Agent
Hi! I am in the designing stages of a theater room. My budget is small, but not small to me I have about $10,000 to work with not including the construction. I am a total newbie, and very confused. I was hoping to get some advice on where best to put my money. Here is a rough idea of what I was thinking.

My foundation is poured already. It has a slant. All my gear is to be in the rear room. The equipment room is 10' wide by 15' long. The main theater is 23' by 15, but will end up with 17' after he finishes the foundation, which should be tomorrow.

I need advice on riser size and placement. I had 2 companies come take a look, but they really rubbed me the wrong way. They basically told me my budget wasnt enough to get anything worthwhile.

Anyway, the builder is willing to make the risers for me out of concrete. I suppose I could ask him to make them out of wood, but I dont know which is better.

Also, due to the slant they are telling me that the projector should be in the back. They also told me I cannot afford a decent projector in my budget. I dont think that is true, I bet there is something that will work.

I was also considering a 2.35:1 fixed height screen.

I also need speakers, I was thinking of Klipsch, but from what I see, a decent setup is going to cost $4000. That is for 2 RF-5s, 1 RC-7, 1 RSW-15, and 4 RS-7s. I was thinking of the Denon 3805.

I need help with screen placement and selection.

I wish there was someone in San Antonio that could help me, but I havent found anyone really willing to help.

I also have to pay someone to come install everything and run the wires.

Can someone help me?

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member

He should've finished that sentence with "...anything worthwhile from a contractor".

Are you handy at all, Alex? Framing isn't complicated, and doing it yourself will save you a lot. Framing a riser will only probably run you a couple of hundred bucks for the lumber.