What's new

Rear Surrounds? (1 Viewer)

Eddie Ras

Stunt Coordinator
i'm a newbie in this home audio ( i don't even want to tell you what i own now!)

i'm buying the Klipsch SF2, SC1, KSW10 and SS1-- but now i'm not sure about the SS1-- very large, and we don't do a lot of movies and don't have a digitat satelitte receiver (don't even have a dvd player). now, in addition to the speakers i've purchased the Denon 2802. my original intent was to only replace my old stereo system, but i'm trying to get into the home theater a bit.

my question is--- is there a smaller set of rear speakers i can use that would do the job??? i've read that rear speakers are not as important-- is this true???

thanks so much for helping!!

ed

Andy Anderson

Second Unit
Eddie-

Have you looked into the SS.5 rears? I had a pair of SB-3's, an SC-1 center, and SS.5 rears a while ago, and they worked very well together. The SS.5's are a bit smaller, and cheaper too!!

Seth Paxton

Senior HTF Member
Well Eddie, one of the main rules of thumb on stuff like this is to get what you can with the knowledge that you will want to upgrade.
So if you don't see yourself paying for nice surrounds right now, your best bet is to go cheap enough that you won't mind upgrading them in 2 years. For any discrete surround formats (Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, and DVD-Audio) you are going to want full range speakers that can match your fronts. Pro-Logic they aren't as important, that's true, but you are likely to find yourself with more and more 5.1 playback in the future.
But if you can't afford that right away, make do with your current fronts in the rear or go as cheap as you can without getting a speaker that will be damaged by your volume levels.
It may not sound as good on DD 5.1 films, but it's a way to get going a little bit. Most of us around here leap frog on different parts, upgrading a different aspect and then slowly upgrading the rest till the original upgrade is the worst part of our system. :)