RCA Splitters

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Chris Stock, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. Chris Stock

    Chris Stock Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any loss of quality if I install RCA splitters on to my component out from my AV amp? I'm restricted by the one output, but have two display devices (TV and Projector). Currently I have been swapping them manually but this has become very boring, and I can't seem to find an AV switcher with two outputs.

    Help please,

    [​IMG]
     
  2. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you're not supposed to passively split a video signal to 2 simultaneous sources, but if you're only running one or the other (the projector or the TV) at a time, it may be different. try it and see.
     
  3. Chris Stock

    Chris Stock Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ScottCHI

    They wouldn't be running at the same time. What I'm concerned about is a loss in picture quality? Do you think this may occur?


    Thanks
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Probably will. I’ve never had good luck splitting video signals.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    certainly the quality of the signal will be degraded relative to a "straight" run without a splitter. how much, though, i don't really know.

    the important question would be whether it's discernable to you or not.
     
  6. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should use a switch box rather than a Y-connecter. You can have picture quality loss with a Y-connector even when the unused device is turned off. Among other things, when devices are connected to both legs of the Y-connector, the required 75 ohm impedance may not be maintained.

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  7. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chris: You can go to Radio Shack and buy one of their L/R/Video mechanical switch box's for about $40. Wire it backwards to toggle between 2 destinations for 1 source.

    And you dont want to use simple "Y" splitters. It can mess up the impedence which can cause reflections which result in a loss of focus/sharpness or even ghosting.
     
  8. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TARGET has the switch boxes too

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Chris Stock

    Chris Stock Extra

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks everybody.

    I never thought of backward wiring a splitter box. Sounds very possible though. I'll give it a go.


    Ta,
     

Share This Page