Raid 1 setup question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Patrick Sun, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,751
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Can you "retrofit" an existing PC setup (single hard drive) into a RAID 1 config (2 hard drives mirrored, connected to a RAID card)?

    Or is it better to start from scratch (have both hard drives connected to an installed RAID card and then load the operating system, etc on the hard drives)?

    The reason I ask is that I have everything but the RAID card, so just trying to find out if I can get started before the RAID card shows up.
     
  2. John_Berger

    John_Berger Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to retrofit, but this depends on a LOT of factors:

    Will your motherboard allow you to boot from the RAID card?

    Will 2K/XP (which I'm assuming you're using) work properly with the RAID card?

    Are both drives exactly the same in cylinders and heads?

    Is the RAID card managed through the operating system or through some O/S-independent method, like a keypress or boot disk?

    Since mirroring is nothing more than duplicating the existing hard drive, there shouldn't be any reasons why it would not work. If you have the ability, starting from scratch is almost always the best thing to do to guarantee that everything is mirrored properly. But as long as the different hardware and software components cooperate, it should not be necessary to do so.
     
  3. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What RAID card or motherboard with RAID support are you useing. You should be able to non-distructivly setup a RAID 1, espically if the hard drives are an exact match.
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,751
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    I've decided to order the card, RocketRaid133, and just wait for it before starting to load it. Both hard drives are the same size/make/model. Thanks for the info!
     
  5. JamesHl

    JamesHl Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why are you doing this, anyway? Tired of backups?
     
  6. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,797
    Likes Received:
    220
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    Yes, but your write speeds and overall performance will suffer.

    If you want real performance gains, go RAID0. RAID1 is for people who want fault tolerance, not performance.
     
  8. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,751
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Fault tolerance is the goal (reliability, up-time), not speed.
     
  9. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I always like setting up a new install as everything will perform better and have less troubles.

    but anyway, do make sure you back up your information before attempting the RAID array as most times raid cards will attach some extra information to the drive so that it recognizes the drive as being in an array.

    depending on funds available you could always look into other raid array setups if you want performance and redundancy.

    I'm sure you already know this, but I'm throwing it out for anyone who reads this thread. a RAID 1 array won't prevent file deletions, software causing corruption, etc. it really wiill only protect information from a hardrive failure. so unless your running mission critical data or are prone to having your hardrives crap out, there won't be much gain from a RAID 1 array.
     
  10. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,751
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    And that's all I'm after, recovering from a hard drive failure.
     

Share This Page