What's new

Can you answer these basic HTPC questions? (1 Viewer)

eyal8r

Auditioning
Real Name
eya
Hey guys- I'm new to this HTPC stuff, but have built a number of PC's in the past. I've been reading a ton in the forums, and now my head is spinning with which hardware to go with! I also have a few other questions about HTPC... 1) What's the pros/cons to running XBMC over WMC? Can I run BOTH (will it benefit me any to do that?) I'm planning on running WMC, but have been seeing a TON about XBMC so I'd like some input on that option. 2) I currently have a BOSE 5.1 Surround Sound system. I'd like to keep it for this setup- maybe I'll upgrade down the road, but I'm fairly happy with it for now. The Bose system makes all the speakers run through the subwoofer, and then out from there. It's some proprietary thing they do. Can I work with that for the HTPC somehow, or should I look at a different speaker system? How will that interface with the HTPC? 3) With the HTPC build, I am dropping out a receiver, and using the HTPC as an amp/receiver essentially. How LOUD can the sound level go for most of these HTPC MOBOs (assuming I am using the onboard sound capabilities). Is there enough power to run my other subwoofer with a good rumble (I have a 2nd subwoofer, NOT the BOSE one- I turn the volume all the way off on the Bose sub, and use the 2nd Sub instead). I'm not into HIGH END audio, but would like the option to have it loud the few times here and there. Do I need a separate sound card, or is the integrated sound good enough on most these MOBO combos (I'm thinking a gigabit in a mini-itx)??? 4) I am running a Netgear WNDR3700 Router w/ high speed internet. I'm going to TRY to run the HTPC WIRED directly to this- but am also considering going wifi with it. With that said, I am also looking at building a NAS system to backup my 2 other PC's in the house (no raid, just backup) as well as the HTPC. Is it best to store all the Media on the HTPC, and then use the NAS strictly as